Skip to content ↓

Governing Body

Saint Ambrose College’s success, and ambition for the future, is driven by and shared with our Governing Body. 

Our Governors bring considerable expertise from many areas of public and commercial life.  They give their time freely and work closely with the Senior Leadership Team. 

The Governing Board’s duties include:

  • setting strategic direction, policies and objectives 
  • approving the school budget 
  • reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives 
  • appointing, supporting and challenging the Principal


 Governors 2023/24

Title Forename Surname Status Appointed
Mr Matthew Arthur Foundation 07/11/2018
Canon Jonathan  Brandon Foundation 16/12/2021
Dr Peter Goodwin Foundation

01/09/2017 (Chair of Governors)

Mr  Joe Itua Co-opted 23/11/2020
Mr Adrian Lewis Foundation 01/09/2017
Mr Andrew McHale Co-opted 20/11/2020
Mr Dermot  Rainey Principal 01/09/2018
Mr Peter Riley Foundation 07/11/2018
Mrs Helen Rose Foundation

22/09/2022 (Joint Vice Chair)

Dr Richard Simpson Foundation  20/11/2018
Dr Ros Tavernor Foundation

22/09/2022 (Joint Vice Chair)

Mrs Shilpa Chauhan Parent 03/11/2022
Mr Ahmed Lawal Parent 03/11/2022


Previous governors 

Title Forename Surname Status Appointed Expiry of Office
Dr Angela Byrne Foundation 09/08/2018 08/08/2023
Ms Laura Whittle Foundation 09/08/2019 23/03/2023
Ms Abigail Kiernan 20/11/2020 20/11/2020 23/03/2022
Br George Gordon Foundation 18/03/2016 05/06/2020
Mr Damian Grainger Parent 22/11/2018 16/07/2021
Mrs Margaret Kerr Co-opted 25/09/2018 05/06/2020
Mrs Helen Norwood Co-opted 25/09/2018 05/06/2020
Mr Bernard Sharp Co-opted 15/11/2016 05/06/2020


Register of Business Interests:

Please find below details of Governor's declarations of interests.

Register of interests 2018/19

Register of interests 2019/20

Register of interests 2020/21

Register of interests 2021/22

Register of Interests 2022/23


Please find below details of Governors' meeting attendance:

Meeting attendance 2022/23

Copies of agendas and minutes of the Full Governing Body and its committees are available on request. Please email if you would like to request any such documents.

Contacting the Governors:

If you would like further information about the St Ambrose College Governing Body or would like to contact a Governor, please write or send an email to the Clerk to Governors. 


Clerk to Governors for St Ambrose College
Trust Governor Services
28-32 Greenwood Street
WA14 1RZ